~ C.E. Schwilk ~ Society, It Smells Like Meat

An omnivore attempting vegetarianism, a writer attempting to get published, just another person just trying to stay out of jail.

Pigging-Out on Pizza – Minus the Shame & Guilt

Who am I kidding? I have no shame or guilt (ever) whenever I eat pizza. Indigestion, heart-burn, and horrible intestinal problems whenever I eat meat-laden pizza, but that’s beside the point. Pizza is awesome and I have fond childhood memories of Friday night shrimp and sausage pizza night (while watching Friday Night Videos – but I think I’m dating myself, now).

pizza

My better half really doesn’t like pizza, but then again, until quite recently, we’ve always had store-bought pizza. I’ve done homemade pizza before (usually as a sleepover-girl-thing or some Girl Scout camping-function-thing, but that was all prepackaged and chemical-filled garbage anyway, just like any other store-bought product), and didn’t care too much for it. I mean, a pizza is a pizza and why work so hard for junk food when you can get it made and delivered by someone else? Isn’t that why we pay for the convenience?

So, once my couple-dom was secured, I stopped having so much pizza – which wasn’t a bad thing, being the better-half was confident in the kitchen and I started eating like a real adult now. I just missed having pizza. Knowing my cravings, my darling decided we were going to make it ourselves – and it was going to be healthy. Egads.

We did by the dough, but it was some organic, hippie stuff (no ingredients that sounded like a mad scientist’s experiment) and then we added vegetarian everything. Mine, as usual, was with vegan cheese – but it was a new brand that I really didn’t like, so next time I’ll switch back to Daiya.

Why didn’t we do this sooner? It was delicious! The vegetables were fresh and tasty, the Quorn cubes (our faux-chicken), added mushrooms, the bell peppers, and the garlic tops were amazing! As much as I like “regular pizza” this homemade stuff outranked anything I’ve had ever before – and it was fun to make as I piled high everything I liked.

Talk to me!

What’s your favourite “Friday night/Weekend” food? Is there something you grew up with as tradition or are you making a tradition of a desired favourite now?

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Pigging-Out on Pizza – Minus the Shame & Guilt

  1. Oh – great post. Friday’s for me growing up meant God Awful fish sandwiches from McDonalds so I’ve blocked most of that out. But weekend food 🙂 Now we’re talking. My favorite weekend food tradition to make make up a HUGE batch of Chili on Saturday mornings in the fall and winter and then leave it simmering for snacks all weekend long.

    If it wasn’t so darn hot now I’d do it this weekend.

    • t.i.n.a. on said:

      Oooooh! Chili! We haven’t had a good chili in a long while – but yes, definitely a more wintery/autumn offering. I love eating my chili with oyster crackers. LOL

      Stay cool and thanks for commenting!

Leave a Reply

Caxton

Mostly language, but not always

Ned's Blog

Humor at the Speed of Life

depressalin

Saving Throes from a Charming ThirtyNothing

Bob Mayer

Write on the River

Life is Short. Eat hard!

Our Endless Search for Fantastic Food!

The Fairytale Traveler

A Fairytale Travel Resource

Bunny Kitchen

Exploring the possibilities of cruelty free food

Spellbound Scribes

Paranormal Authors Writing with Passion!

Sheree's Warm Fuzzies

Finding inspiration in travel, family, nature & pets

Gourmet Horror

Tasty terror, served ice cold.

Myndi Shafer

Fantasy for the Rest of Us

April Bradley

“Let your fiction grow out of the land beneath your feet.” ― Willa Cather

G. R. Bliss Writing

It's what I do.

Sodapop's Sweet Vegan

Vegan baking & vegan eating in Melbourne

Jack Flacco

THE OFFICIAL SITE

Unearthly Fiction

Jim Denney on the Craft and Profession of Writing Fiction

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Novel Ideas

Presented by Nick Wale

Tameri Etherton

A Cup of Tea and Sorcery

Musings of a Mutie

what I read and what I see.

Susie Lindau's Wild Ride

Come for Adventure. Stay for the Ride!

Nights of Passion

Not just another Romance blog

Deelaytful

Season Three

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

Emmie Mears

SFF. Queer AF.

Nail Your Novel

Nail Your Novel - Writing, publishing and self-publishing advice from a bestselling ghostwriter and book doctor

Tiffany A White's Ooo Factor

Things that Make You Say "Ooo"

Hawleyville

There's A Freakshow on my Stage

David N Walker

Where the Heart Is

A Heart's Echoes

Be the change that you wish to see in the world - Ghandi

Almost Thirty-Something

Millennial. Blogger. Happy soul.

Pleiades513

Come Let's Fall in Love Again.

q8concierge

Non-touristic things to see

A Digital Magician

Patrick Thunstrom's Blog

Kristen Lamb

Author, Blogger, Social Media Jedi

The Practical Free Spirit

Amy Sundberg's Blog

Novel Ideas

The world is one big book waiting to be written

Merry Farmer

An Historical Romance

Craig Hallam

An author of Speculative Fiction, speculates about fiction.

The Rambling Jour

Just a hot momma writing a novel: one agonizing semi-colon at a time

Serena Dracis

Breaking Away From Ordinary

Kait Nolan

Smart, sassy, small town Southern romance that makes you feel like home

Angie Richmond

Urban Fantasy & Historical Fiction Writer. Cemetery Enthusiast.

The Life of the Curly-Headed Viking

The Life and Times of a Curly-Headed Viking, in and out of the SCA

this curious universe

A blog on life’s journey: struggling with the desire for outward perfection, seeking inner harmony, and letting go of everything else.

Isiopolis

A votive Work in honor of the Goddess Isis

Earthpages.ca

Think Free

